Album Review: Pixies - 'Beneath The Eyrie'


Something eerie has turned the water a tinged shade of gothic rock ‘n’ roll (and it’s not just critters lurking beneath the soil). Thirty-three years into their world domination and post reformation, Pixies release their sixth full-length album ‘Beneath The Eyrie’ and, as if by magic, we’re thrown instantly back into the celebrated kind of alt- hectic we’ve grown to expect from the four piece over the years. 

Not ones for subtleties and with a track listing including Birds Of Prey, Los Surfers Muertos and Death Horizon, there’s undeniably something subconsciously macabre brewing inside Pixies newly polished silver cauldron of classic guitar commotion. 

With a little bit of gnarl now thrown in to the mix, numbers such as St. Nazaire and This Is My Fate are a full throttle clamour of helter-skelter riffed taunts, growling snares, and even growl-ier vocals of which howl to the high heavens- this is psychobilly! With fated lyricisms and child-play clicking percussion layered over intimate undertones relating to frontman Black Francis’ marital demise, Beneath The Eyrie is a knotted tangle-ment almost impossible to shake loose. 

All in all this record bleeds authenticity right the way through from top to bottom. It’s exactly what it says on its rusted roister tin and you can’t really ask for more.

Words by Al Mills

'Beneath The Eyrie' will be released 13th September 2019

Live Dates - SEPTEMBER
12  De La Warr Pavilion, Bexhill, UK
13  Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff, UK
14  Pavilions, Plymouth, UK
16  O2 Academy, Birmingham, UK
17  O2 Academy, Leeds, UK
18  O2 Apollo, Manchester, UK
20  Alexandra Palace, London, UK
21  O2 Academy, Newcastle, UK
22  O2 Academy, Glasgow, UK
23  Usher Hall, Edinburgh, UK
25  Ulster Hall, Belfast, UK
26  Olympia Theatre, Dublin, Ireland

WTHB OnlineAlbum Review, Reviews